Saturday 28th May 2011

RCM 270x180

Royal College of Music Strings


  • Vaughan Williams. Concerto Grosso
  • Walton. Two Pieces From Henry V Suite
  • Holst. St Paul’s Suite
  • Barber. Adagio
  • Tchaikovsky. Serenade For Strings

Royal College of Music Strings, Mark Messenger – conductor

On May 28th May the Royal College of Music Strings, under their conductor Mark Messenger, performed a concert of English music in the first half. This included the rarely performed Concerto Grosso  by Ralph Vaughan Williams. The advanced string players from both of the town’s secondary schools performed with them. The result was astounding as the rich string texture was complimented by the church’s good acoustic, The RCM Strings also performed  Barber’s Adagio and Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings.