Friday 1st June 2012

Galya Gagliano270x180

The Gagliano Ensemble


  • Bach. Partita No 3 in E BWV1006
  • Vaughan Williams ‘The Lark Ascending
  • Ravel. Sonata No 2 for Violin & Piano
  • Brahms. Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor Op. 60

Galya Bisengalieva studied at the Royal Academy, under Gyorgy Pauk. She graduated with first class honours and subsequently went on to study at the Royal College, where she passed her master’s degree with distinction. Her final course recital was outstanding. She and her regular partners, the Gagliano Ensemble have toured together and recently worked with Susan Tomes of the Florestan Trio. Galya plays a violin by the Italian violin maker Antonio Gaglian

Galya begins her recital with one of Bach’s most famous partitas. It is followed by the original 1920 version of ‘The Lark Ascending’, the subject of a recent BBC4 television programme. This is subtly different from the more frequently performed version with orchestral accompaniment. Galya will finish the first half of the concert with Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Piano No 2 in G major (in place of Tzigane originally programmed). This work was written at the same time as Tzigane in 1923. It is a truly inspired work that explores Afro- American rhythms with a nod to the ‘Roaring Twenties’. The concert ends with a performance of Brahm’s beautiful Piano Quartet No 3 in C minor Op. 60. It epitomises the style of European romantic music extant at the time that Vaughan Williams, Ravel and Holst were all seeking their own individual voice.