Wu quartet

The Wu Quartet


  • Wolf. Italian Serenade
  • Dvorak. String Quartet in G Major Op.106
  • *Schumann. Piano Quintet in E flat Major Op.4

The Wu Quartet has studied with the Berg, Tallich, Ysaye and Wihan Quartets, as well as Gyorgy Pauk. They have travelled widely in the UK and throughout Europe including Vienna and Florence. Recently they performed to great acclaim at Snape Maltings and later at King’s Place in London, where their performance of the Dvorak Quartet Op106 received a standing ovation.

* The Taiwanese pianist, Chiao Ying Chang was a top prizewinner winner in the Leeds International Piano Competition and won similar awards in the both Dublin and Taiwan.

Musical Opinion said of a recent performance: An impressive soloist with a lightness of touch and a powerful dramatic attack’

This concert brings together three beautiful romantic works. Firstly, Wolf’s lyrical Serenade, followed by. Dvorak’s Quartet Op 106, composed in a burst of energy after his return from America. Schumann’s Piano Quintet, a real ‘tour de force’ was written for his wife Clara. She was taken ill just before the private first performance in their house and so the young Mendelssohn stepped forward and sight read the work.

Galya Gagliano270x180

The Gagliano Ensemble


  • Bach. Partita No 3 in E BWV1006
  • Vaughan Williams ‘The Lark Ascending
  • Ravel. Sonata No 2 for Violin & Piano
  • Brahms. Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor Op. 60

Galya Bisengalieva studied at the Royal Academy, under Gyorgy Pauk. She graduated with first class honours and subsequently went on to study at the Royal College, where she passed her master’s degree with distinction. Her final course recital was outstanding. She and her regular partners, the Gagliano Ensemble have toured together and recently worked with Susan Tomes of the Florestan Trio. Galya plays a violin by the Italian violin maker Antonio Gaglian

Galya begins her recital with one of Bach’s most famous partitas. It is followed by the original 1920 version of ‘The Lark Ascending’, the subject of a recent BBC4 television programme. This is subtly different from the more frequently performed version with orchestral accompaniment. Galya will finish the first half of the concert with Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Piano No 2 in G major (in place of Tzigane originally programmed). This work was written at the same time as Tzigane in 1923. It is a truly inspired work that explores Afro- American rhythms with a nod to the ‘Roaring Twenties’. The concert ends with a performance of Brahm’s beautiful Piano Quartet No 3 in C minor Op. 60. It epitomises the style of European romantic music extant at the time that Vaughan Williams, Ravel and Holst were all seeking their own individual voice.

Sacconi quartet270x180 colour

The Sacconi Quartet


  • Haydn. String Quartet Op 20 No 6*
  • Mozart. String Quartet in D Major K 575
  • Beethoven. String Quartet Op 59 No 3 (Razumovsky)

The Sacconi Quartet has become one of the most sought after young quartets. They have travelled widely, received many awards and have recently established their own festival in Kent. They are currently ‘Quartet in Residence’ at The Royal College of Music.  Musical Opinion recently described them as:

"An exceptional ensemble"

Their recital comprises three important quartets from the great masters of the classical era. Sacconi are also very keen to promote chamber music amongst young string players, who often join orchestras without experiencing small group ensembles. They have therefore agreed to coach some of the advanced string players of both Woodbridge secondary schools in the first work on the programme. The players will form themselves into quartets, prepare and perform one movement of the work in a free concert to ticket holders before the main concert at 6.30pm. Come and be impressed!