Saturday 17th May 2014

The series commenced with the return of the Royal College of Music String Ensemble with a concert of English music including the rarely heard Serenade for Strings by Lennox Berkeley. The concert concluded with a magnificent performance of Shostakovich's Chamber Symphony Op 110a, an orchestration of his Eighth String Quartet by his friend Rudolph Barshai The concert included an educational project with the advanced strings of the town's two secondary schools who performed in the first two works on the programme.


  • Vaughan Williams. Prelude on Welsh hymn tune Rhosymedre
  • Warlock. Capriol Suite
  • Elgar. Sospiri
  • L.Berkeley. Serenade for Strings
  • Purcell. Chaconne
  • Barber. Adagio
  • Shostakovich. Chamber Symphony Op 110a (arr Barshai)
27 05 2014 MarkMessenger

Mark Messenger, rehearsing the combined string ensemble